5 important changes coming to Destiny 2 Shadowkeep

Welcome back to our series of articles about Destiny 2 and their changes coming with Destiny 2 Shadowkeep. Today we want to focus on important changes that are coming to the Destiny 2. Especially for people that have played the game so far. If you are preparing for the new expansion release on October first 2019.

#1 Bungie removed levels

The most important change are the missing levels. You previously had to level up all the way to level 20. Only then you finished the vanilla content progression. Bungie increased the level grind in the latest expansion of Destiny 2 Forsaken to even level 50. Now with the change of Bungie making Destiny 2 free to play, levels are a fragment of the past and only the power levels are important for your progess.

#2 season pass turns into battle pass

Since there’s no levels anymore in Destiny 2, you’re still getting progress in form of experience points for finishing activities like missions, rituals and more. Experience will upgrade your battle pass, which comes in a free version and the latest season that is currently around. For the launch of Destiny 2 Shadowkeep, Bungie implemented a new season. This season is Season of the Undying, with a focus on the Vex enemies. You can purchase the season pass individually per season for 10$. If you purchased Destiny 2 Shadowkeep, you get the Season of the Undying included with your Shadowkeep purchase.

#3 new power level ranges

Having different ranges of power levels and their respective rewards tied to it is nothing new to Destiny 2 Shadowkeep, but since there’s new numbers and updates we wanted to keep you in the loop. As lined out in the latest TWAB post on the Bungie.net website, here’s the new power level ranges:

  • Floor: 750
    • This is where all players will be set to with the release of Destiny 2 Shadowkeep, no matter if you’re a free to play new guardian or a Destiny 2 veteran before this October release
  • Soft Cap: 900
    • All drops up to this point will be upgrades to the most powerful item in your inventory or vault
    • Beyond this point, only powerful and pinnacle rewards will increase a player’s Power
  • Powerful Cap: 950
    • All NON-powerful/pinnacle rewards are capped at 950
    • Pinnacle rewards are the only way to raise Power above this point
    • Powerful rewards are equivalent to the character’s highest-equippable Power beyond this point
  • Pinnacle Cap: 960
    • This is the highest Power at which gear drops; also known as the “hard cap”
    • The Seasonal Artifact bonus Power allows characters to attain values above this level

#4 changes to cosmetics and premium currency

Silver and Bright Dust are the two things in Destiny 2 that allow you to go shopping in the Eververse shop. This is an ingame shop that you can use to buy different emotes, special cosmetics like sparrows or ships and more. Bright Dust is the free currency which previously was granted only when dismantling cosmetic items. Now with Destiny 2 Shadowkeep you can earn this currency by playing the game. Completing Crucible, Gambit, and Vanguard weekly and repeatable bounties now grant Bright Dust. Additional to that you can also spent real world money on Silver. Silve in the end is the premium currency that has much lower prices for the same items that you can buy with Bright Dust.

Speaking of dismantling items, it still stays true that you should dismantle and cosmetic item you have right now to get the Bright Dust from it. With the release of Destiny 2 Shadowkeep, dismantling cosmetic items will only turn into legendary shards and glimmer. More info about what you should do before the 24 hour maintenance window starts, you can read about in this article here: How to prepare for Destiny 2 Shadowkeep.

#5 various activities can be launched from orbit now

Multiple destinations and places are going to be accessible through the orbit directory. After the release of Destiny 2 Shadowkeep:

  • The Eververse storefront will be available via the Directory
  • “The Shattered Throne” Dungeon
    • will be available at all times instead of every third week
    • can be launched and reset from the directory
  • Black Armory forges are now accessible through a Director-launched playlist on EDZ.

Some of these, especially the shattered throne, are very interesting things to play through. The very first dungeon of its type, a basically 3-man sized raid, was only available for a limited time, every three weeks. Now that it has been opened up to be able every day, we definitely recommend playing through it. Mind you, for this activity you need the Destiny 2 license.

What do you think about this post? Let us know on our socials listed below!
📳 https://notify.me/thenewbyte
🐦 http://thenewbyte.com/twitter
🎮 http://thenewbyte.com/twitch
🎧 http://thenewbyte.com/podcast
📸 http://thenewbyte.com/instagram
🐷 http://thenewbyte.com/discord